2016 Del Ray Parking Study Released

In May 2016, the City surveyed on- and off-street parking areas in Del Ray to document existing parking in the neighborhood and assess utilization.  This information will be compared with the data collected in 2010 to identify changes in parking conditions and ultimately develop strategies to better manage parking within the area https://www.alexandriava.gov/tes/info/default.aspx?id=5600

Alexandria Citizens’ Police Academy Notice

By Ginny Hill-Obranovich Volunteer Coordinator, Alexandria Police Department The fall session of the Citizens’ Police Academy is scheduled to start on Wednesday, September 10th and run thru Wednesday, November 12th with graduation on Wednesday, November 19th. For those of you who are not familiar with the academy, it is a 10 week program for citizens and employees Read More …

DRCA Transportation and Pedestrian Safety Subcommittee Report

By Jay Nestlerode, DRCA T&PS Subcommittee Chair The next T&PS Subcommittee Meeting is scheduled for January 16th, 7pm at the Mount Vernon Rec Center- 2701 Commonwealth Ave, Large Meeting Room. A Discussion of the Potomac Yards Landbay L project and associated traffic issues will be held with the Alexandria T&ES Department during the Jan. 16th DRCA T&PS Subcommittee meeting. UPDATE: Read More …

Traffic calming, bike lanes considered for East Monroe Avenue

In response to citizen requests, the staff of the city’s Department of Transportation and Environmental Services (T&ES) has proposed measures to slow traffic and accommodate bicycles on East Monroe Avenue. Hillary Poole of T&ES presented the proposal to the DRCA Transportation and Pedestrian Safety Committee at its September 16 meeting. The presentation will be repeated at Read More …

DRCA committee to consider proposal for traffic calming, bike lanes on Monroe Avenue

The DRCA Transportation and Pedestrian Safety Committee will consider a city staff proposal for traffic calming and bicycle lanes on East Monroe Ave. between Mount Vernon and Leslie avenues. For further information, contact Committee chair Jay Nestlerode at jnestlerode@gmail.com.